The Educational Institute of Scotland

Pupils with Social, Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties: Class Size Maxima

Introduction

1.1 The following resolution was approved by the 2009 Annual General Meeting:

"This AGM instructs Council to call upon Local Authorities to ensure that bases and units in mainstream schools supporting pupils with Social, Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties apply SNCT Appendix 2.9 of Section 2: Class Size Maxima: 6 Pupils."

Responses

- 2.1 There were 24 responses from Scottish Councils (Appendix A). Within that a number indicated that the Council did not have provision in mainstream schools supporting SEBD pupils although some indicated that schools may have been provided with additional staffing to establish in-school behavioural units. However, such units are not dealing with a fixed cohort of pupils.
- 2.2 Where there is formal provision for bases the respondees confirmed that the units established ratios in accordance with SNCT Appendix 2.9 and do not exceed 6 pupils.

Recommendation

- 3.1 From the responses receive it is clear that where bases and units in mainstream schools support pupils with Social, Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties the class size of 6 is generally observed.
- 3.2 It is clear that bases and units are increasingly deployed within mainstream schools and this is a matter which will be dept under review. In particular, the implications of the Additional Support for Learning Act, particularly in relation to coordinated support plans which will require to be considered within the SNCT in relation to current SNCT definitions.
- 3.3 This paper should be copied to EIS representation on the SNCT.

Appendix A

Alexander of City	
Aberdeen City	6
Aberdeenshire	6
Angus	6
Argyll & Bute	-
Clackmannan	5
Dumfries & Galloway	6
Dundee	6
East Ayrshire	support bases – "unlikely to exceed"
East Dunbartonshire	6
East Lothian	generally no more than 6
East Renfrewshire	No provision
Edinburgh	No bases
Falkirk	6
Fife	-
Glasgow	Numbers based on assessment of need with
	each base or unit
Highland	6
Inverclyde	6
Midlothian	-
Moray	6 support bases
North Ayrshire	-
North Lanarkshire	
Orkney	
Perth & Kinross	
Renfrewshire	6
Scottish Borders	No bases
Shetland	6
South Ayrshire	6
South Lanarkshire	6
Stirling	6
West Dunbartonshire	6
West Lothian	6
Western Isles	-